Constabulary Medal Awards, and Kings Police Medal Awards

The King's Police Medal came into being on 7 July 1909 as an award for bravery; it was a nationwide award and granted initially to police serving in England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland.  The Irish Police already had their own local gallantry award, the Constabulary Medal; but the KPM as a national award was to take precedence. In the period from 1909 to 1922 only 42 members of the RIC were awarded the medal, and of those only one went to ADRIC

1921 Dec 29. Kings Police Medal gazetted. William F. Martinson, District Inspector, Royal Irish Constabulary. “ DI Martinson has served as Adjutant of the Auxiliary Division RIC for the past 8 months and has shown untiring energy and devotion to duty”


The Constabulary Medal was a decoration of the Royal Irish Constabulary (RIC). The medal was established on 15 April 1842, by the Inspector General of the Royal Irish Constabulary and approved by the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland. Though it was not formally created by the crown, but was a local award with viceregal approval, it was presented for eighty years and is found in the government's official order of wear. Some 315 medals with 7 bars were awarded. Most awards were made during the Easter Rising in 1916 (23) and the War of Independence in 1920-21 (235)

1920 Nov 20 T Mitchel was awarded Constabulary Medal for bravery during Bloody Sunday

1921 Jan 18. T Simmonds . Wounded in Kilroe ambush and awarded the Constabulary Medal on 25 May 1921, PRO, HO 351/73. The commander of the Auxiliary detachment, Section Leader Lieutenant T. Simmonds DSO MC DCM, was awarded the Constabulary Medal for bravery during this ambush. "Although suffering from very painful wounds in the back he organised his defence splendidly, drove off the attackers and then withdrew with all the wounded clear of the wood to a place of vantage, where a defence position was taken up until the arrival of reinforcements."

1921 Jul 2. Bjorkman, GC Gash And Martelli for bravery in relation to an IRA ambush at Ardfert railway station, Co Kerry during 1921. He was one of three Cadets who were awarded the Constabulary Medal for bravery on that day by thwarting an attack on the train by up to 17 IRA gunmen.

1921 Jun 16. WE Crossey, F Scott, W Kay, Const HWT George at Rathcoole